How To Deactivate Facebook Messenger?

Reasons to deactivate Facebook Account before the Facebook Messenger

If you want to deactivate your Facebook messenger, then the first step is deactivating your Facebook account. If you simply deactivate your Facebook account, then you will still receive chat notifications through Facebook messenger. Therefore, for deactivating your Facebook messenger, always keep the following in mind:

Deactivate your Facebook account Deactivate your Facebook messenger

Follow these two steps for the successful deactivation of your Facebook messenger app. Moreover, users feel that the Facebook messenger app ranks poorly when it comes to secure messaging apps. The messenger app lacks a default encryption option, tracks your behaviour, and does not encrypt your previous conversations. You can also choose to Turn On or Off Facebook Marketplace Notifications as needed.

How to Deactivate Facebook Messenger?

If you want to deactivate your Facebook messenger, then you can follow the steps of the following two methods:

Step 1: Deactivate your Facebook account

If you want to understand how to deactivate Facebook messenger then the first step is to deactivate your Facebook account. The reason behind this is you cannot deactivate the Messenger app without deactivating your Facebook account. There is a huge difference between deleting and deactivating your account, as deleting your account means erasing your data from the Facebook platform. Whereas deactivating your account means hiding your profile or taking a break from the social networking site. Therefore, to make sure that you deactivate your Facebook account and not delete it, you can follow these steps.

1. The first step is to open Facebook on your web browser.

2. Now from the top right corner, click on the drop-down icon in the shape of a triangle. 

3. Go to the Settings tab by clicking on Settings and Privacy.

Click on Settings & privacy under your Profile

4. Under settings, you have to click on ‘Your Facebook Information.’

Click on Your Facebook Information under Settings

5. You will now see the Deactivation and deletion section, where you have to click on View to access this section.

Click on Deactivation and deletion under Your Facebook Information section

6. Select the option of Deactivate account and click on the ‘Continue to Account Deactivation’ button.

Select Deactivate account then click on Continue to Account Deactivation button

7. Finally, you have to type in your password to confirm the deactivation.

Type your Facebook Account password then click on continue

8. Once you have deactivated your Facebook account, you can check out the next part.

 

Full Article Below